clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA vs. Honduras: Jürgen Klinsmann announces USMNT roster

Seven members of the January camp squad have cracked the Hex squad, while Timothy Chandler returns and Landon Donovan is left out.

Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

Jürgen Klinsmann announced his USMNT roster for Wednesday's World Cup Qualifying final round match against Honduras, and it included a few minor surprises, though nothing truly jarring. Landon Donovan is omitted after flirting with retirement earlier this winter, though he's likely to be included in Klinsmann's plans after he returns to the pitch for the LA Galaxy.

Sean Johnson, Matt Besler, Omar Gonzalez, Brad Davis, Brad Evans, Graham Zusi and Eddie Johnson were all impressive enough in January camp to win spots on Klinsmann's team. Zusi and Johnson were previously first-choice players for Klinsmann, and did nothing to diminish their standing in January camp. It's worth knowing that Evans, a midfielder by trade who played a half at fullback last week against Canada, was listed as a defender. Johnson, who has played more on the wing than up top in recent games, is listed as a forward.

Timothy Chandler has earned a recall after committing himself to the U.S. team and will be cap tied if (likely when) he makes an appearance against Honduras.

Edgar Castillo, Herculez Gomez and Jose Torres are all in good form in Liga MX, with Torres having recently cracked the first choice starting XI of his new team, Tigres. Castillo was a key part of Tijuana's Apertura title, while Gomez has done well to hold off rising young stars to retain his place in the Santos Laguna team.

Goalkeepers: Tim Howard (Everton), Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire).

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Carlos Bocanegra (Racing Santander), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Timothy Chandler (Nürnburg), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Augsburg).

Midfielders: Michael Bradley (AS Roma), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Maurice Edu (Bursaspor), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht), Jose Torres (UANL Tigres), Danny Williams (Hoffenheim), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Clint Dempsey (Tottenham Hotspur), Herculez Gomez (Santos Laguna), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders).