clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ellis names WNT roster for final leg of World Cup Victory Tour

28 players have been called in for the last four games of the year.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

USWNT head coach Jill Ellis has named the roster for the last four matches of the World Cup Victory Tour.

The US is scheduled to play Trinidad & Tobago twice, then China PR twice. They'll hit Honolulu, San Antonio, Glendale, and New Orleans, where they'll say goodbye to all-time leading goalscorer Abby Wambach.

Lauren Holiday, Shannon Boxx, and Lori Chalpuny have all retired and played their farewell matches, leaving room for Ellis to call in even more new names for evaluation as the team begins to look ahead towards CONCACAF qualification for the Olympics.

Non-World Cup players who were called up include: Crystal Dunn, Jaelene Hinkle, Emily Sonnett, Danielle Colaprico, Rose Lavelle, Samantha Mewis, Lindsey Horan, and Stephanie McCaffrey.

From the last roster, new players who aren't returning are Gina Lewandowski and Christine Nairn, both of whom have club commitments in Germany and Australia respectively.

New addition Colaprico has been on Ellis' radar for a while, but was unavailable for the last camp due to injury. She's one of several NWSL rookies who showed well during 2015, and with these callups, demonstrates one of the intended benefits of NWSL as a development pool for the WNT.

Some players won't be available for all four games. Horan has club commitments and will join the team after their Hawaii match, while Sonnett's availability depends on how the University of Virginia fares in the NCAA College Cup.

This roster seems to be a continuation of Ellis' intentions to rotate the WNT as they come to the end of their four-year cycle. Based on her use of subs in the team's last two games against Brazil, she'll probably end up using a good chunk of her roster. Her mix-and-match lineups managed to hold up against a mostly coordinated Brazilian attack and made the case for new players like Hinkle and McCaffrey to begin integrating with the senior team, as well as for fringe players like Lindsey Horan to become more regular fixtures.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS (10): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Jaelene Hinkle (Western NY Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Emily Sonnett (Univ. of Virginia)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Danielle Colaprico (Chicago Red Stars), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (Wisconsin), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (Western NY Flash), Heather O'Reilly (FC Kansas City), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)

FORWARDS (7): Lindsey Horan (PSG), Sydney Leroux (Western NY Flash), Stephanie McCaffrey (Boston Breakers), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (unattached)