clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carli Lloyd wins FIFA women's player of the year

Lloyd capped an intense 2015 with the top individual prize in women's soccer.

Chris Covatta/Getty Images

Carli Lloyd is the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year.

This caps off a peak year of winning for Carli Lloyd, who came away from the World Cup an American hero for her hat trick in the final against Japan. Here is an obligatory link to her half-field strike.

In an emotional speech, Lloyd thanked Sunil Gulati, head coach Jill Ellis, her teammates, and longtime training coach James Galanis. "We all know that it took 23 players to win the World Cup this past summer," said Lloyd in her acceptance speech.

Lloyd won over Germany's Celia Sasic and Japan's Aya Miyama.