clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USWNT dominates CONCACAF end of year award nominations

The USWNT is heavily featured in every women’s category for CONCACAF’s best of 2016 awards.

Soccer: 2016 CONCACAF Women's Olympic Qualifying-Puerto Rico at USA Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

CONCACAF has released their short lists for their year-end awards. Nominees are drawn from CONCACAF-sanctioned tournaments and competitions that involve CONCACAF national teams, as well as performances achieved in professional leagues under CONCACAF’s umbrella. You can check out eligibility criteria here.

Best XI lists have been determined by technical directors from CONCACAF member associations. Voting is done by national team coaches and captions, fans, and select media, which each group making up one third of the vote.

Here are the lists for each women’s category:

Player of the Year

Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride)
Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)
Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash)
Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns)
Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit)
Janine Beckie (Houston Dash)
Karla Villalobos (Unión Deportiva Moravia)
Mallory Pugh (UCLA)
Shirley Cruz (Paris Saint-Germain)
Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns)

Goalkeeper of the Year

Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)
Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride)
Cecilia Santiago (Þór Akureyri)
Dinnia Diaz (Unión Deportiva Moravia)
Erin McLeod (FC Rosengard)
Kimika Forbes (Trinidad & Tobago)
Michelle Betos (Portland Thorns)
Sabrina D’Angelo (WNY Flash)
Stephanie Labbe (Washington Spirit)
Yoselin Franco (Unifut)

Best XI - Defenders

Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit)
Alina Garciamendez (Mexico)
Ashley Lawrence (West Virginia)
Allysha Chapman (Houston Dash)
Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)
Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars)
Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia)
Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC)
Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns)
Shelina Zadorsky (Washington Spirit)

Best XI - Midfielders

Desiree Scott (FC Kansas City)
Diana Matheson (Washington Spirit)
Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash)
Gloriana Villalobos (Deportivo Saprissa)
Jessie Fleming (UCLA)
Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign)
Morgan Brian (Houston Dash)
Shirley Cruz (Paris Saint-Germain)
Sophie Schmidt (FFC Frankfurt)
Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns)

Best XI - Forwards

Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride)
Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars)
Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns)
Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit)
Deanne Rose (Canada)
Janine Beckie (Houston Dash)
Karla Villalobos (Unión Deportiva Moravia)
Mallory Pugh (UCLA)
Melissa Tancredi (KIF Örebro DFF)
Raquel Rodriguez (Sky Blue FC)

Female Coach of the Year

Amelia Valverde (Costa Rica WNT)
Jill Ellis (United States WNT)
Laura Harvey (Seattle Reign)
Michelle French (United States U20 WNT)

Kelley O’Hara was also nominated for goal of the year with this neat little backheel against Puerto Rico:

It’s worth noting that in CONCACAF, the two heavy hitters are the United States and Canada by virtue of sheer population coupled with funding from their federations. They’re followed by Mexico, and then a mix of the other CONCACAF nations, so it’s not exactly surprising to see the United States dominating the categories. Until other federations start to step up their women’s programs, that’s how it’s going to be. It’s just worth it to remember the context here, and when the U.S. is racking up 10-0 wins over Puerto Rico.

Who do you think should win? Who do think actually will win? Let us know in the comments.