clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USSF announces nominations for 2016 players of the year

USSF released nominations for in five categories for their end-of-year awards.

Soccer: U.S. Women's National Team Friendly Soccer Match-Columbia at USA Mark L. Baer-USA TODAY Sports

US Soccer has announced their nominations for Disabled, Young Female, Female, Young Male, and Male player of the year.

Disabled player of the year nominees:

Adam Ballou (Paralympic Soccer MNT)
Nico Calabria (Amputee Soccer MNT)
Emily Cressy (Deaf WNT)
Matt Eby (Deaf MNT)

Young male player of the year nominees:

Andrew Carleton
Cameron Carter-Vickers
Jordan Morris
Christian Pulisic
Josh Sargent

Young female player of the year nominees:

Emily Ogle
Kaleigh Riehl
Karina Rodriguez
Ashley Sanchez
Andi Sullivan

Male player of the year:

Jozy Altidore
Michael Bradley
Geoff Cameron
Clint Dempsey
Bobby Wood

Female player of the year:

Crystal Dunn
Tobin Heath
Carli Lloyd
Alex Morgan
Becky Sauerbrunn

Winners will be announced at staggered intervals:

Young male/Male winners: December 9 during the MLS Cup preview show on FS1
Young female/Female winners: December 11 during ESPN FC weekly recap show on ESPN2
Disabled winner: December 12 on

Voting is done by NT coaches, staff, players who earned a cap in 2016, members of the USSF board of directors, USSF’s Athlete Council, pro coaches, and select college coaches and media members. Players who previously won young male or female POTY cannot win the award again as per USSF voting rules.

In 2015, the winners were:

Disabled player: Kevin Hensley (Paralympic NT)
Young male: Matt Miazga
Young female: Mallory Pugh
Male: Michael Bradley
Female: Carli Lloyd

Who do you think will win? Should win? Got left off the short list? Let us know in the comments.