clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA U17s beat France to win International Montaigu Tournament

Taking home another trophy.

Danny Wild-USA TODAY Sports

The United States U-17 men's national team beat the France U-16s, 3-2, in the final of the 44th Mondial Football de Montaigu. This is the second time they've won the tournament, after taking home the title in 1992.

Timothy Weah scored the U.S.' first goal in the fifth minute, taking advantage of a goalkeeping error. The French stormed back with two goals to take a 2-1 lead into the half.

George Acosta scored two goals in the second half -- the second a beautiful chip from well outside the box -- to earn the U.S. the win and the tournament title.

The U.S. qualified for the final by winning Group B with a 1-0-2 record and a superior goal differential. In their first match, they tied Brazil, 1-1. Ayo Akinola scored the tying goal in the 80th minute from a Joshua Sargent assist.

They tied England in their second match, 2-2, thanks to two goals from George Acosta. The U.S. finished group play with a 4-0 take down of Russia. Acosta and Akinola scored two goals apiece to clinch a spot in the final.


USA roster for the tournament below (via US Soccer):

GOALKEEPERS (2): Alexander Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Justin Garces (Kendall FC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (7): Jake Arteaga (LA Galaxy; Glendora, Calif.), Kelee Cornfield-Saunders (LA Galaxy; San Marcos, Calif.), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), J.J. Foe Nuphaus (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif), Rayshaun McGann (Philadelphia Union; Royal Palm Beach, Fla.), Tyler Shaver (Beachside Soccer Club; Riverside, Conn.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (5): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Georgia United; Locust Grove, Ga.), James Sands (New York Soccer Club; Rye, N.Y.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS (6): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Georgia United; Powder Springs, Ga.), Nicolas Garcia-Morillo (Atletico de Madrid; Madrid, Spain), Niccolo Lemoine (De Anza Force; Livermore, Calif.), Joshua Sargent (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.), Tim Weah (Paris Saint-Germain F.C.; Rosedale, N.Y.)


Final placement:

1) United States 2) France 3) Brazil 4) Morocco 5) England 6) Northern Ireland 7) Russia 8) Peru

Player of the Tournament:

Yacine Adli - France