clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA's Copa America 2016 preliminary roster announced

Jurgen Klinsmann's 40-man roster pool is revealed

Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

United States manager Jurgen Klinsmann has unveiled his 40-man Copa America preliminary roster.

A few surprising names make their return to the national team fold such as right back Eric Lichaj who fans have clamored for, for years. Youngsters Ethan Horvath, Kellyn Acosta and Christian Pulisic make the preliminary squad, while top prospects like Gedion Zelalem, Emerson Hyndman, and Rubio Rubin do not.

The rest of the list is pretty self-explanatory with no real surprising omissions other than Brek Shea and some of the better young youth prospects who have no where to play internationally this summer.

While 40 names will be called in, they'll only have a few days in training camp to make their case to Klinsmann. USMNT camp begins in Florida on April 16th. The final 23-man Copa America squad will be decided on May 20th, two days before the USMNT's first friendly of the summer against Puerto Rico.

Here is the USMNT's full 40-man Copa America Centenario preliminary roster:

GOALKEEPERS: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Ethan Horvath (Molde), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake).

DEFENDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Ventura Alvarado (Club America), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Monterrey), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea), Michael Orozco (Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland).

MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Moenchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Perry Kitchen (Hearts), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

FORWARDS: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Ethan Finlay (Columbus Crew), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin), Gyasi Zardes (Los Angeles Galaxy)