clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA Under-17s open AIFF Youth Cup with 1-1 draw against Tanzania

Scorching day.

Chris McGrath/Getty Images

The United States under-17 national team started the AIFF Youth Cup with a 1-1 tie against Tanzania.

Ayomide Akinola opened the scoring in the 3rd minute, converting Jean-Julien Foe Nuphaus' cross.

Tanzania equalized in the 15th minute. A wide open Mohamed Rashid Abdallah received the ball at the top of the box and calmly finished past American keeper Justin Garces.

Both teams pressed for the go-ahead goal, but were denied due to multiple acrobatic saves from both goalkeepers.

The match was played at the Tilak Maidan in Goa, India in 100 degree heat.

The U.S. faces India on May 19th. India drew their first match against Malaysia, 2-2.

The U-17s, led by John Hackworth, are participating in the inaugural AIFF (All India Football Federation) Youth Cup, which serves as preparation for the 2017 U-17 World Cup hosted by India.


Match highlights:


Lineups below (via U.S. Soccer):

USA: 1-Justin Garces; 3-Christopher Gloster, 5-Tyler Shaver, 4-Christopher Durkin (capt.), 2-Jean-Julien Foe Nuphaus (18-Arturo Vasquez, 75); 6-Christopher Goslin, 20-Adrian Villegas (16-James Sands, 62), 10-George Acosta; 11-Andrew Carleton (17-Niccolo Lemoine, 80), 9-Joshua Sargent, 7-Ayomide Akinola

Subs Not Used: 12-Alex Budnik, , 13-Rayshaun McGann, 14-Jaylin Lindsey, 15-Jake Arteaga, 19-William Sands, 21-Chandler Vaughn, 22-Quantrell Jones, 23-Kevin Negrete

Head Coach: John Hackworth

TAN: 1-Ramadhani Awm Kabwili; 3-Nicson Celment Kirabage, 4-Ally Hussein Msengi, 6-Issa Abdi Issa Makamba (capt.), 5-Dickson Nickson Job (15-Kibwana Ally Shomari, 31); 13-Shabani Zuberi Ada, 2-Ally Hamis Nganzi, 10-Asad Ali Juma; 8-Syprian Bendictor Mtesigwa (7-Kelvin Nashon Naftal, 75), 21-Mohamed Rashid Abdallah, 9-Yohana Oscar Mkomola (11-Maziku Amede Amani Ngawembele, 52)

Subs Not Used: 12-Maulid Salum Lemba, 14-Enrick Vitaris Nkosi, 16-Israel Patrick Mwenda, 17-Rashid Mohamed Chambo, 18-Kelvin Deogratius Kayego, 19-Muhsini Malima Makame, 20-Yassini Muhidini Mohamed, 25-Samwel Edward Brazio

Head Coach: Bakari Nyundo Shime