clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA Copa America roster to be announced at halftime of New York Red Bulls vs New York City FC


Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The United States men's national team roster for the historic Copa America Centenario will be revealed on Fox at halftime of Saturday's MLS derby between the New York Red Bulls and New York City FC.

Rob Stone, Eric Wynalda, and Cobi Jones will be hosting the halftime show, and an interview with head coach and technical director Jurgen Klinsmann will follow the announcement.

The Red Bulls/City match is set to begin at 3:00 p.m. following the broadcast of the FA Cup Final being contested by Manchester United and Crystal Palace.

The Copa America Centenario is the 45th edition of the Copa America and features an expanded field of 16 teams to celebrate the 100th year of competition. The United States, drawn into Group A, will take on Colombia (June 3rd), Costa Rica (June 7th), and Paraguay (June 11th).

Here's the group of players from which Klinsmann will be choosing:

GOALKEEPERS (5): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Ethan Horvath (Molde), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (15): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Ventura Alvarado (Club America), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Edgar Castillo (Monterrey), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea FC), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (FC Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading FC), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (8): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Ethan Finlay (Columbus Crew), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund),Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Who do you think will be selected on Saturday for the final roster?