clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA finalize 23-man roster for Copa America 2016

Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

Jurgen Klinsmann has decided on the 23 players he'll take around the country this summer to play in the Copa America Centenario. After turning in his preliminary roster of 40 on May 1, the United States manager has had very little hands-on time with the players to make his final choices.

The 23 chosen leave little in the way of surprises. The biggest name missing from the final roster is Jozy Altidore, who picked up yet another hamstring injury and will miss out on another big international tournament.

Undoubtedly the most head-scratching decision on the roster is Chris Wondolowski making it over Jordan Morris. Timmy Chandler, who has been out in the international wilderness for a year, also makes his return to the team. No Edgar Castillo on the roster also means no natural left back in the team.

All of the usual suspects made the cut with Michael Bradley leading the way as captain of the team. 17-year-old Christian Pulisic is the most exciting name to make the roster. It should be interesting to see how he handles the intense spotlight.

The USA kick off the Copa America Centenario on June 3 against Colombia in Santa Clara, CA.

Here is the full USMNT roster for the Copa America:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Ethan Horvath (Molde IK)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting KC), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (FC Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Graham Zusi (Sporting KC)

Forwards: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Hamburg SV), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)