clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA U-17s advance to AIFF Youth Cup final with win over Malaysia

To the final they go!

Matt Cardy/Getty Images

The United States under-17 national team earned a spot in the championship of the All-India Football Federation Youth Cup with a 2-1 win over Malaysia in their final group play match.

Joshua Sargent opened the scoring in the 18th minute, converting a penalty.

Sargent scored what ended up being the game winning goal in first half stoppage time, heading in a cross from the wing.

Kevin Negrete was sent off in the 51st minute with a red card, forcing the U.S. to go the rest of the match with ten men.

Malaysia pulled one back in the 85th minute, but were unable to find the equalizer.

The U-17s will take on South Korea in the final, which is set for May 25th at Tilak Maidan Stadium. The two teams previously played to a scoreless draw.

Here are the final group standings:

The AIFF Youth Cup is being held in Goa, India in preparation of the 2017 U-17 World Cup.

Full roster for the tournament listed below (via U.S. Soccer):

GOALKEEPERS (3): Alexander Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Justin Garces (Kendall FC; Miami, Fla.), Quantrell Jones (Baltimore Celtic; Baltimore, Md.)

DEFENDERS (8): Jake Arteaga (LA Galaxy; Glendora, Calif.), Jean-Julian Foe Nuphaus (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), Rayshaun McGann (Philadelphia Union; Royal Palm Beach, Fla.), Tyler Shaver (Beachside Soccer Club; Riverside, Conn.), AJ Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Chandler Vaughn (D.C. United; Hood River, Ore.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin (Georgia United; Locust Grove, Ga.), James Sands (New York Soccer Club; Rye, N.Y.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS (6): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ontario), Andrew Carleton (Georgia United; Powder Springs, Ga.), Niccolo Lemoine (De Anza Force; Livermore, Calif.), Kevin Negrete (LA Galaxy; Hawthorne, Calif.), Will Sands (New York Soccer Club; Rye, N.Y.), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O'Fallen, Mo.)