clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MacMillan, Chastain, Garber elected to 2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame

Two WNT legends and a league commissioner walk into a hall of fame...

Hamish Blair/Getty Images

The National Soccer Hall of Fame class of 2016 votes are in.

Player - Brandi Chastain

Veteran - Shannon MacMillan

Builder - Don Garber

Chastain and MacMillan are of course two giant names in USWNT history, having both played in the historic 1999 Women's World Cup. Chastain had 192 caps and 30 goals for the WNT, while MacMillan had 176 caps and 60 goals. Both are Olympic medalists.

Garber has been the commissioner of  Major League Soccer for 17 years and is currently CEO of Soccer United Marketing.

Players are eligible after being retired for at least three full calendar years, up to 10 full calendar years. They must have played at least 20 full international games for the United States if they started playing after 1990.

After 10 years of retirement, players then move to the Veteran ballot.

Builders are those who are at least 50 years old and are "making their mark in the soccer community in a non-playing capacity while sustaining a major and positive impact on American Soccer at the national, federation or first-division level for at least 10 years."

The full list of player, veteran, and builder candidates is below. You can read the rules for voting here.

2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot
Chris Armas
Gregg Berhalter
Brandi Chastain*
Wilman Conde*
Jimmy Conrad
Jeff Cunningham*
Frankie Hejduk
Chris Henderson**
Chris Klein
Jason Kreis
Eddie Lewis
Clint Mathis
Kate (Sobrero) Markgraf
Tiffeny Milbrett
Heather Mitts*
Jaime Moreno
John O'Brien**
Ben Olsen
Pat Onstad
Steve Ralston
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts**
Tony Sanneh
Briana Scurry
Lindsay Tarpley
Taylor Twellman
Aly Wagner*
Josh Wolff*
* First year of eligibility
** Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2017

2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran Ballot
Barry Barto
George Best
David Brcic
Mike Burns
Teofilo Cubillas
John Doyle
Marco Etcheverry
Linda Hamilton
Cyril Hannaby
Mary Harvey
Lori Henry
Frank Klopas
Shannon MacMillan
Shep Messing
Brian Quinn
Tisha Venturini
Roy Wegerle
Richie Williams

2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame Builder Ballot
Esse Baharmast
Bob Contiguglia
Don Garber
Joe Machnik
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth
Steve Sampson