clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

DeAndre Yedlin on penalty: "I think it's a 50-50 call."

New, 55 comments

Was it the correct call?

United States v Colombia: Group A - Copa America Centenario Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

With Colombia leading by a lone goal late in the first half, the United States were holding their own against the No. 3 team in the world. As halftime approached, one incident really changed the outlook of the match. DeAndre Yedlin was ruled to have intentionally handled a cross inside the penalty area and referee Roberto Garcia awarded a penalty kick to Colombia.

James Rodriguez slotted home the spot kick and Colombia were well on their way to an opening match win. Who knows how the match would've played out had the penalty not been given.

Yedlin spoke to reporters after the match and admitted that the ball hit his hand, but debated the fact that it was intentional as the rules state it has to be to award a penalty.

"I think it's a 50-50 call," Yedlin said. "Obviously the ball made contact with my hand. He decided to give it, and that was his decision. So now you've got to move on from these kind of things and obviously try to get back in the game."

"Sometimes your human instinct just comes out," Yedlin said. "So it happens. Obviously it's unfortunate. It's not like it's deliberate, like I tried to stop it with my hand or anything."

Here are the official rules for awarding a handball according to FIFA:

Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with his hand or arm. The referee must take the following into consideration:

• the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand)

• the distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball)

• the position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement

• touching the ball with an object held in the hand (clothing, shinguard, etc.) counts as an infringement

• hitting the ball with a thrown object (boot, shinguard, etc.) counts as an infringement

Here is video of the incident:

You make the call in the comments. Was it a penalty?