clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA announces roster for September World Cup qualifiers

Here’s the squad Klinsmann will rely on to get the USMNT to the Hex

Guatemala v United States Photo by Frederick Breedon/Getty Images

With less than a week until the United States men’s national team kick off their penultimate fourth round World Cup qualifier away to St. Vincent and the Grenadines (Sept. 2, 3:30 p.m. ET, beIN Sports), manager Jurgen Klinsmann has named his 26-man roster.

The USMNT face the uncertain task of having to go on the road and pick up three points before heading home to take on current Group C leaders, Trinidad and Tobago. While the U.S. will certainly be favored in both matches, CONCACAF competition is never that cut and dry.

Klinsmann has named a interesting mix of veterans and young players to this camp. Players like Kellyn Acosta, Caleb Stanko, Paul Arriola, and Rubio Rubin are young players who are getting a chance to shine on the big stage. While the old guard such as Jermaine Jones, Kyle Beckerman, and Chris Wondolowski are also named.

Omar Gonzalez and Jordan Morris are two players that missed out on the final Copa America roster but have won a spot on this one.

The most obvious omission from the roster is Clint Dempsey who had to withdraw due to being treated for an irregular heartbeat. It’ll be a difficult chore for the team to try and replace the USMNT’s second all-time leading scorer in the attack. Gyasi Zardes has also been dealing with injury issues and misses out.

Here’s the full USA roster:

Goalkeepers (3): Brad Guzan (Middlesbrough), Ethan Horvath (Molde FC), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids)

Defenders (9): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United)

Midfielders (9): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Caleb Stanko (FC Vaduz), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards (5): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Rubio Rubin (FC Utrecht), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Hamburger SV)