clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Morgan wins CONCACAF player of the year

She joins several other WNT players in being honored by CONCACAF for 2016.

Romania v United States Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Alex Morgan has been named as CONCACAF’s female player of the year for 2016.

Morgan had 17 goals and three assists in 21 games for US Soccer this past year. She had four goals and one assist in 15 games for the Orlando Pride, but was the team leader in shots and shots on goal. Morgan led the voting ahead of Tobin Heath and Crystal Dunn, who tallied at second and third place respectively.

Morgan is joined by USWNT teammate Ashlyn Harris as CONCACAF goalkeeper of the year.

Jill Ellis lost out on coach of the year to the Costa Rica WNT head coach, Amelia Valverde. U20 head coach Michelle French was third in voting for coach of the year.

Other WNT players were honored as part of the CONCACAF Best XI:

Ashlyn Harris | United States; Orlando Pride (USA)

Ali Krieger | United States; Washington Spirit (USA)
Kadeisha Buchanan | Canada; West Virginia University (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn | United States; FC Kansas City (USA)
Ashley Lawrence | Canada; West Virginia University (USA)

Gloriana Villalobos | Costa Rica; Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)
Carli Lloyd | United States; Houston Dash (USA)
Shirley Cruz | Costa Rica; Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
Tobin Heath | United States; Portland Thorns FC (USA)

Alex Morgan | United States; Orlando Pride (USA)
Christine Sinclair | Canada; Portland Thorns (USA)

Voting is done by three groups: national team coaches and captains, media, and fans.