clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight candidates officially in the running for US Soccer president

Eight out of the original nine made the cut.

Nine people declared their intention this year to run for president of US Soccer, and eight of the nine are now official candidates. US Soccer has released the names of those who fulfilled the requirements for candidacy and they are as follows:

Paul Caligiuri
Kathy Carter
Carlos Cordeiro
Steve Gans
Kyle Martino
Hope Solo
Michael Winograd
Eric Wynalda

Of the original nine, Paul LaPointe is the odd candidate out who was unable to meet the nomination requirements.

As per USSF rules, to be placed on the ballot, candidates were required to:

  • Complete a background check
  • Submit at least three (3) letters of nomination on official letterhead from Organization Members (as defined in Bylaw 302) and/or one of three Athlete Members of the Board of Directors

The bio information submitted by each candidate is here.

Now that we have our final list of US Soccer presidential candidates, what is the actual procedure from here?

Well they’ll have about two months to campaign. Also, according to US Soccer regulations, “Candidates shall conduct campaigns with dignity and moderation and with respect for any other candidate(s), for the USSF and its members,” which hopefully won’t become a problem at all.

Then the actual vote will be held at the Annual General Meeting, which takes place in 2018 from February 8 - 11 in Orlando. The actual vote will be Saturday, February 10 during the National Council meeting from 8 AM to 1 PM.

According to US Soccer bylaw 401, the vote will be done by secret ballot and the winner is the person who gets the majority vote of the National Council.

We will, of course, be tracking the election, and will do our best to round up candidate interviews over the next couple of months so you can follow along and stay informed.