clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT roster for Mexico, T&T World Cup qualifiers released

A few fresh faces.

Honduras v United States - FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Bruce Arena has unveiled his 27-man roster to take on Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago in the June World Cup qualifiers. With a friendly to precede the two important matches, the roster has been infused with a few fresh faces.

One interesting name to make the roster is FC Dallas defender Matt Hedges who makes it over his teammate, Walker Zimmerman. Another exciting addition to the roster is Club Tijuana’s Paul Arriola who started the Liga MX on fire, but has since cooled off a bit. His versatility on the right flank will be important.

"I think we have a good group," Arena said in a release. "I'm still in the early goings with this team and I haven't seen all of our players, so this camp gives me the opportunity to see six new faces we haven't had in with the team yet, which is valuable. It's also great that we're able to bring back 21 players that have been in with our program already in 2017. We have a roster that has good balance all over, we have good young players and hopefully it's a team we can put together to get us points in both games."

The rest of the roster is pretty self-explanatory with all of the usual candidates getting the call-up. There were some injury scares to Bobby Wood, John Brooks and Fabian Johnson but they’ve all been called in.

Full USMNT Roster:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United), Ethan Horvath (Club Brugge), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake).

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Paul Arriola (Tijuana), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Fabian Johnson (Moenchengladbach), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund).

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Bobby Wood (Hamburg)