clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World Cup qualifying draw finalized for United States

Concacaf held the draw for the 2018 Women’s Championship today to finalize the groups that will play for a qualifying spot in the 2019 Women’s World Cup.

The United States got drawn into Group A, where it will face Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, and Panama.

The United States is hosting qualifying, which will take place October 4 - 17. Group A will play at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC and Group B will play at H-E-B Park in Edinburg, TX. The top two teams from each group will proceed to semifinals and finals at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, TX.

Given the countries drawn into A, the United States should expect to advance to knockouts in Frisco, where they will likely face Canada or Costa Rica from Group B. Within Group A, the biggest test will likely be Mexico, who have been known to get a couple of goals back on the US.

Unfortunately, #50 ranked Trinidad & Tobago and unranked Panama receive minimal support from their federations and won’t be competitive opponents. FIFA’s latest rankings indicate that Panama lost their ranking due to inactivity for more than 18 months, although they successfully competed in Central American qualifiers in August to reach the final qualification tournament.

October 4 - 10
Group A play in Cary, NC

October 14
Semifinals in Frisco, TX

October 19
Finals in Frisco, TX

Games will air on Fox Sports and Univision