clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Morgan is Concacaf player of the year

Morgan wins her fourth Concacaf award; Naeher picks up GK of the year

Soccer: 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championship-Canada at USA Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Alex Morgan has been named Concacaf player of the year for 2018 for the third year in a row. She also won in 2013. Concacaf voting is done by national team head coaches, captains, media, and fans and is based on “on-field performance and overall behavior onand off the pitch.”

Jamaica’s Khadija Shaw and Morgan’s teammate Lindsey Horan were second and third in voting, respectively.

You can add this to Morgan also being named US Soccer player of the year, beating out Julie Ertz, Lindsey Horan, Tobin Heath, and Megan Rapinoe.

Additionally, Alyssa Naeher was named Concacaf female goalkeeper of the year, coming in ahead of Panama’s teen upstart Yenith Baliey and Canada’s Stephanie Labbe.

Five US women’s national team players made the best XI:

Alyssa Naeher
Crystal Dunn
Becky Sauerbrunn
Lindsey Horan
Alex Morgan

Morgan bagged 18 goals in 19 games for the USWNT in 2018 so she’s doing pretty well. Let’s hope that’s just the buildup to a peak just in time for the Women’s World Cup in June.