clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here are your 2019 USWNT player of the year nominees

[screams in Crystal Dunn]

England v USA: Semi Final - 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

It’s time to name the USWNT player of the year. This year’s nominees are Julie Ertz, Rose Lavelle, Carli Lloyd, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe, and Alyssa Naeher. The award is for “achievements with club and country.” Voting will run from today through December 6 and is done by:

  • respective National Team coaches
  • National Team players who have earned a cap in 2019
  • members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors
  • U.S. Soccer Athletes’ Council
  • National Women’s Soccer League head coaches
  • select media members
  • former players and administrators
  • select college coaches (WNT award only)

The 2018 player of the year was Alex Morgan.

It’s important to note that this award takes into account club performance as well, although voting will inevitably be weighted by World Cup performance. Of all the nominees, those who probably made the biggest impact for their club were Julie Ertz and Alyssa Naeher, although Carli Lloyd could come into consideration for a dogged performance when she was available for Sky Blue. On World Cup performance alone, once again Ertz must come into consideration, while Lavelle and Rapinoe will probably rise to the top of voters’ minds. Naeher had her standout moments - who can forget her trying to stop her own teammates from celebrating her penalty save against England because she didn’t want to get called for timewasting - but honestly field players and goalscorers do tend to get the lion’s share of attention. Balancing the two against each other, you might think this should be Julie Ertz’s award to lose. But you can’t count out Rapinoe as a voter favorite despite injury and NT duty keeping her away from the Reign for much of the season.

Who do you think will win? Who should win? Was anyone snubbed? Let us know in the comments.