clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019-20 CONCACAF Nations League groups finalized

We finally know who will join the USMNT in League A.

Late last night, the final matches in CONCACAF Nations League qualifying concluded, and the confederation learned which teams would participate in League A, League B, and League C of the 2019-20 CONCACAF Nations League, set to begin in September. The United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama, and Trinidad and Tobago automatically qualified for League A as participants in the last Hexagonal round for 2018 World Cup qualifying. Canada, Haiti, Martinique, Cuba, Curaçao, and Bermuda will join the Hex participants in League A.

The CONCACAF Nations League draw will take place Wednesday night (10:00pm, Univision), where teams will be drawn into groups. League A will consist of 4 groups of 3 teams, League B will have 4 groups of 4 teams, and League B will have 3 groups of 3 teams and 1 group of 4 teams. Teams in each League are divided into pots, with groups consisting of one team from each pot. The winner of each group in League A will qualify for the Nations League final in March 2020, while the 3rd place finisher in each group will be relegated to League B. League B group winners will be promoted to League A, while the 4th place teams will be relegated to League C. League C group winners will jump up to League B.

So, who could the USMNT face this fall? This is how League A shapes up:

League A

Pot 1 - Mexico, United States, Costa Rica, Honduras

Pot 2 - Panama, Canada, Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago

Pot 3 - Martinique, Cuba, Curaçao, Bermuda

CONCACAF Nations League A

Since the USMNT are in Pot 1, they will not face Mexico, Costa Rica, or Honduras. They will get one team from Pot 2 and another from Pot 3 to form their group.

Jamaica, who made the Hex in 2013 and the final of the last two Gold Cups, lost at El Salvador Saturday night and slid to League B. The other teams that will join them in the middle division of the CONCACAF Nations League:

League B

Pot 1 - Jamaica, El Salvador, Nicaragua, French Guiana

Pot 2 - Saint Kitts and Nevis, Dominican Republic, Suriname, Guyana

Pot 3 - Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia

Pot 4 - Grenada, Barbados, Dominica, Montserrat

CONCACAF Nations League B

Finally, League C consists of mostly those Caribbean islands that you find at the bottom of the FIFA world rankings. League C does include Guatemala, whose federation was suspended and was not allowed to participate in Nations League qualifying.

League C

Pot 1 - Guatemala, Guadeloupe, Bonaire, Puerto Rico

Pot 2 - Aruba, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands

Pot 3 - U.S. Virgin Islands, Saint Martin, Sint Maarten, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla

CONCACAF Nations League C

CONCACAF Nations League is about to take flight. Who would you like to see drawn with the USMNT on Wednesday night?