clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2019 Women’s World Cup Day 16: Match thread and discussion

New, 13 comments

Truths will start to be revealed

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Jamaica v Australia: Group C - 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

It is time for the World Cup to get serious, the Round of 16 is upon us. The day kicks off with Germany taking on Nigeria. Die Nationalelf may be missing Dzsenifer Marozsan after suffering a broken toe against China. Germany should have enough talent to get past Nigeria without their playmaker, but Asisat Oshoala could lead the Super Falcons to a surprise upset if she gets a moment to doing something brilliant in the match.

Later in the day, Norway will take on Australia in what should be an interesting contest. Australia has stepped up after falling to Italy in the first game of the tournament and their attack is firing on all cylinders after a four goal output from Sam Kerr in the final group game. Their defense is another issue and Norway will have every reason to think they can exploit the shaky backline. The Scandinavians handily beat Nigeria and South Korea while keeping up with France in a match they very well could have won. This one may come down to who can score the most goals in a game that could be a high scoring affair.

How To Watch

Germany v. Nigeria

Location: Stade des Alpes, Grenoble

Kickoff: 11:30 AM ET; 8:30AM Pacific

TV: FS1, Telemundo

Streaming: Fox Sports Go (Website/App), Telemundo Deportes (App/Website), NBC Sports (App), Fubo TV (Free trial)

Norway v. Australia

Location: Stade de Nice, Nice

Kickoff: 3PM ET; 12PM Pacific

TV: FOX, Telemundo