clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Gold Cup Day 9: Match thread and discussion

New, 2 comments

Decision day for Group A

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Soccer: Venezuela at Mexico Adam Hagy-USA TODAY Sports

The Gold Cup will continue with Group A wrapping up their first three matches. Action starts with Canada taking on Cuba. The Canadians seem set to advance with a win, though there could be some doubt to that if Cuba wins and Martinique falls to Mexico and both results work out in such a way that the Cubans overcome a negative 10 goal differential.

Mexico and Martinique will follow with El Tri seeming set to go through as they currently sit on six points. Martinique can go through but it will need some kind of magical outcome of beating Mexico and Canada losing, beating Mexico and Canada winning but beating Mexico in such a way it wins a tie breaker or drawing Mexico and Canada losing. Obviously, they have their work cut out for them.

How to watch

Canada vs. Cuba

Location: Bank of America Stadium - Charlotte, NC

Kick-off time: 6:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Pacific

Available TV: FS2 (English), Univision Deportes (Spanish)

Available streaming: Fox Sports Go (App/Website), Univision (App/Website), FuboTV (Free Trial)

Mexico vs. Martinique

Location: Bank of America Stadium - Charlotte, NC

Kick-off time: 8:30 p.m. Eastern, 5:30 p.m. Pacific

Available TV: FS1 (English), Univision (Spanish), UniMás (Spanish)

Available streaming: Fox Sports Go (App/Website), Univision (App/Website), FuboTV (Free Trial)