clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT World Cup qualifying opponents set

We know the Octagon schedule

United States v Mexico: Championship - CONCACAF Nations League Finals Photo by John Dorton/ISI Photos/Getty Images

The Octagon is set. With the conclusion of the Second Round of Concacaf World Cup qualifying, the USMNT learned the final 3 teams that would join them, Mexico, Honduras, Costa Rica, and Jamaica in the Final Round of qualifying, also known as the Octagonal round. We already knew the dates for qualifying, but the USMNT was just awaiting word of the final 3 teams that would enter the Octagon with them.

Panama held off Curaçao with a scoreless draw tonight on the road, while Canada beat Haiti in Chicago to book their place in the Octagon. El Salvador, who beat St. Kitts & Nevis 4-0 on the road last Saturday, won again at home to be the last team in the Octagon.

So, while we don’t know home venues, we know the schedule for the USMNT as they begin their quest in September to return to the World Cup.

So, the dates for each match in the Octagon for the USMNT:

The Octagon

September 2, 2021: @ El Salvador

September 5, 2021: vs. Canada

September 8, 2021: @ Honduras

October 7, 2021: vs. Jamaica

October 10, 2021: @ Panama

October 13, 2021: vs. Costa Rica

November 12, 2021: vs. Mexico

November 16, 2021: @ Jamaica

January 27, 2022: vs. El Salvador

January 30, 2022: @ Canada

February 2, 2022: vs. Honduras

March 24, 2022: @ Mexico

March 27, 2022: vs. Panama

March 30, 2022: @ Costa Rica

Fans are certainly hoping to learn home venues soon as they try to make plans to support the team as they seek to qualify for the World Cup in Qatar. Hit the comments and let us know which matches you’re trying to attend!