clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: USA “serious candidate” to host FIFA Club World Cup

It would take place in February 2023.

Chelsea v Palmeiras: Final - FIFA Club World Cup UAE 2021 Photo by Matthew Ashton - AMA/Getty Images

The trophy for the greatest club team in the world could be lifted on American soil. According to Spanish outlet AS, the United States is “a serious candidate” to serve as hosts for the next FIFA Club World Cup.

Because of the 2022 FIFA World Cup taking place in November and December, if the Club World Cup takes place, the targeted dates are February 6-12, 2023. The tournament involves the champions of every FIFA confederation plus the winner of the host nation’s domestic league.

That would mean that Major League Soccer could have two representatives for the first time ever at the Club World Cup. The Seattle Sounders became just the 3rd MLS team to win a Concacaf confederational trophy when they won the Concacaf Champions League in May. Should the United States host the Club World Cup, this year’s MLS Cup champions would also book a trip to the tournament.

Update: Major League Soccer will not be able to field two teams in the Club World Cup should it be hosted in the United States. According to the tournament format, if the host nation has a team that wins its confederation tournament, the host nation’s champion slot is then given to the next best team from the confederation tournament that is not from the host nation. Since the Sounders beat Mexico’s Pumas UNAM in the Concacaf Champions League final, Pumas would be the final team in the Club World Cup should the United States serve as hosts.

AS reports that Abu Dhabi and China were also under consideration to host the tournament, but that FIFA couldn’t reach an agreement with either, which put the focus onto the United States. The matches would likely be played at a NFL stadium that could allow for huge crowds.

The normal FIFA World Cup tournament format:

Entering in Playoff Round: 2022 OFC Champions League winners (Auckland City), Concacaf Champions League runner-up (Pumas UNAM)

Entering in Quarterfinal Round: 2022 AFC Champions League winners (Urawa Red Diamonds/TBD), 2022 CONCACAF Champions League winners (Seattle Sounders), 2021-22 CAF Champions League winners (Wydad AC)

Entering in Semifinal Round: 2022 Copa Libertadores winners (Flamengo/Athletico Paranaense), 2021-22 UEFA Champions League winners (Real Madrid)

Hit the comments to discuss whether the U.S. would be a preferred host for the Club World Cup.