clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Panama, Haiti win playoffs to qualify for Copa America Centenario

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Panama and Haiti won playoffs on Friday night to book their places in Copa America Centenario. The two countries complete the 16-team field for the tournament, which will begin on June 3, 2016 and crown the champion of North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Haiti beat Trinidad and Tobago, 1-0, to earn their spot in the tournament. Pascal Millien scored in the 83rd minute to provide the difference as the Haitians pulled off the upset.

Panama followed that up with a 4-0 thrashing of Cuba as the Canaleros scored four minutes into the match and never looked back. Both matches were played in Panama, as chosen by CONCACAF because Panama was the highest ranked of the teams in the playoff.

All 10 South American teams automatically qualified for Copa America Centenario. The United States and Mexico were also named automatic qualifiers, then Costa Rica qualified as Copa Centroamericana champions and Jamaica as Caribbean Cup winners. That left two places open, which were determined by taking the four highest finishers from the 2015 Gold Cup not yet qualified and having them play in Friday's playoff.

Copa America Centenario field

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela