clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Copa América 2024 opener, final venues announced

Atlanta will host the opener, while Miami has the final.


The United States Men’s National Team have qualified for the 2024 Copa América and as hosts, we are starting to get details on where some of the matches will be played. On Monday, CONMEBOL announced that Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta will be the site of the opening match of Copa América 2024 on June 20th. The Copa América 2024 Final will take place at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami on July 14th.

It is unclear whether the USMNT will play in the opening match, as they had not yet secured qualification at the time of announcement. The Copa América 2024 Draw takes place on December 7th, which will confirm the USMNT’s placement in the field of 16. However, many expect the USMNT to play the opener at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, which can hold 71,000 fans and is the home of Atlanta United and the Atlanta Falcons.

The Copa América 2024 Final will take place on July 14th at Hard Rock Stadium, the home of the Miami Dolphins and Miami Hurricanes. It holds over 65,000 fans, and it will make South Florida the center of soccer in the Americas for one night as they crown a Copa América champion.

The other venues for the tournament have not yet been confirmed, but is expected in the coming days. However, according to ESPN’s Roberto Rojas, SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles and Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas will serve as semifinal sites.

“We expect stadiums filled with the passion of the entire American continent for the inauguration and final of an unforgettable CONMEBOL Copa América,” CONMEBOL president Alejandro Domínguez said in a statement. “In Atlanta, the ball will start rolling and it won’t stop for a month until the final match in Miami. These are magnificent stadiums in wonderful cities. We are grateful for the valuable cooperation of the U.S. authorities and our friends from Concacaf in the organization of this competition. We look forward to the best CONMEBOL Copa América of all time.”

The United States, Jamaica, Panama, and Mexico all qualified for Copa América by winning in the two-legged Concacaf Nations League Quarterfinals. They will join the 10 members of CONMEBOL - Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela - in the field of 16 that will be sorted into groups on December 7th. The final 2 teams will be determined at the Copa América playoffs in March, where Canada will face Trinidad & Tobago and Costa Rica will face Honduras. The winners of those two matches on March 23rd will qualify for Copa América.

Hit the comments to discuss Atlanta as the site of the opener and Miami as the host of the Copa América Final.