clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT announce preliminary roster for Gold Cup

Steve Flynn-USA TODAY Sports

Jurgen Klinsmann has named his 35-man preliminary roster for this summer's Gold Cup. The team comes with some surprises, but any squad that goes 35 deep is bound to have a few. All in all, it's a pretty predictable side.

The only really notable omission is Geoff Cameron. Stoke City asked that he be rested for the United States' friendlies against the Netherlands and Germany because of several small injuries and it appears as if they have done so again. Miguel Ibarra also misses out, but it's not as if he has made a particularly strong case to be included and Danny Williams didn't make the cut either. Jermaine Jones isn't part of the squad, but he is hurt. Otherwise, just about everyone one would expect to make a preliminary roster is on there.

One name on the roster does stand out above the rest: DaMarcus Beasley. He announced his retirement from the national team last year, but is apparently set to end that retirement and play for the U.S. again.

Klinsmann has until June 27 to cut his team down to a final 23 players. If the team makes the knockout stages, Klinsmann could then replace up to six players on the roster, but only from those included on the preliminary roster.

The U.S. begins their Gold Cup on July 7 against Honduras. They will then take on Haiti and Panama to round on Group A play. If they finish first or second in the group, they will advance to the quarterfinals in Baltimore, with the semifinals in Atlanta to follow. The final is on July 26 in Philadelphia.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan, Bill Hamid, Nick Rimando, William Yarbrough

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado, DaMarcus Beasley, Matt Besler, John Brooks, Timothy Chandler, Brad Evans, Greg Garza, Omar Gonzalez, Michael Orozco, Tim Ream, Brek Shea, DeAndre Yedlin

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman, Alejandro Bedoya, Michael Bradley, Joe Corona, Brad Davis, Mix Diserud, Fabian Johnson, Perry Kitchen, Alfredo Morales, Lee Nguyen, Gyasi Zardes, Graham Zusi

Forwards: Juan Agudelo, Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey, Alan Gordon, Aron Johannsson, Jordan Morris, Chris Wondolowski