clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jurgen Klinsmann names USMNT roster for 2015 Gold Cup

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

Jurgen Klinsmann has his roster for the Gold Cup. The United States manager named his 23-man team for next month's CONCACAF championship and is now ready to get together for training camp ahead of the most important tournament in the region.

The U.S. had struggled since last year's World Cup, but came away with wins over Netherlands and Germany last month to turn their fortunes around and now head into the Gold Cup with momentum. Klinsmann has repeatedly said that the Gold Cup is a priority and that the team's top goal is to win it after experimenting in so many friendlies over the last year.

Klinsmann has most of his top players in this team, with Clint Dempsey, Michael Bradley and Jozy Altidore all in the squad. There are some notable absences in defense, with Geoff Cameron out by request of Stoke City and Matt Besler, Greg Garza and DaMarcus Beasley all missing.

There are plenty of familiar names on the team, including some some fans probably wish they were more of strangers, like Chris Wondolowski and Brad Davis. Jordan Morris, who impressed in recent months, is not on the team.

This team won't necessarily be the squad that the U.S. takes through the entire tournament. CONCACAF rules allow for teams to remove up to six players from their roster and replace them after the group stage, so long as the replacements come from the team's 35-man preliminary roster. Klinsmann has this side for the group stage, but there could still be some changes come the knockouts.

The U.S. will open up their Gold Cup campaign on July 7 against Honduras. They'll take on Haiti three days later, then wrap up the group stage on July 13 against Panama. It's a tough group by Gold Cup standards, but the U.S. are still huge favorites to win it and make their way to the final on July 26 in Philadelphia. The entire tournament will be televised by FOX, Fox Sports 1 and Fox Sports 2.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)