clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CONCACAF Gold Cup groups unveiled

A T&T rematch awaits the USMNT in Group D.

United States v Jamaica: Final - 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

This evening, CONCACAF unveiled the groups for the 2019 Gold Cup. Unlike previous editions of the tournament, there was no live draw for the groups. Instead, the groups were organized by the confederation and announced. Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras, and the United States had been announced as the seeded teams in the four groups. Jamaica was added last week as a tournament host and were placed in Group C alongside Honduras.

The groups for the Gold Cup:

Group A - Mexico, Canada, Martinique, Cuba

Group B - Costa Rica, Haiti, Nicaragua, Bermuda

Group C - Honduras, Jamaica, El Salvador, Curaçao

Group D - United States, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana

The USMNT will begin Group D play against Guyana on June 18th in St. Paul, Minnesota. They then travel to Cleveland on June 22nd to face Trinidad and Tobago. Finally, they travel to Kansas City on June 26th to take on Panama to round out the group stage. Should they finish 1st or 2nd in the group, they will move onto the knockout stage. The path to the final in Chicago on July 7th would go through Philadelphia (June 30th) and Nashville (July 3rd).

Hit the comments and let us know what you think of the groups and how they stack up. Does the USMNT have a tough one, or should they easily move onto the quarterfinals?