clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT Gold Cup provisional roster released

A lot of names to choose from.

Mexico v United States Final - 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup Photo by Matthew Ashton - AMA/Getty Images

We know the pool of players from which Gregg Berhalter will form the main roster when the Gold Cup begins next month. Today, Concacaf released the provisional rosters for each of the teams that will either compete in the Gold Cup or in the preliminary round. Each team was allowed to select up to 60 players to the provisional roster, which will be reduced to a roster of 23 on June 30th.

The USMNT roster is almost entirely comprised of players who were not on the Nations League team that won the trophy earlier this month in Denver. Only 4 players from the 23-man Nations League roster are included on this provisional roster. USMNT head coach Gregg Berhalter has indicated that he wanted to give his core Nations League group rest and time for the Euro-based players to get into preseason with their clubs. The Gold Cup will be a roster of players that could be fighting to be a part of the depth of the player pool as the team prepares for World Cup qualifying this fall.

The provisional roster for the USMNT:

GOALKEEPERS (5): Brad Guzan (Atlanta United), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Tim Melia (Sporting Kansas City), Matt Turner (New England Revolution)

DEFENDERS (19): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), George Bello (Atlanta United), Reggie Cannon (Boavista), Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur), Justin Che (FC Dallas), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls), Chase Gasper (Minnesota United), Jonathan Gomez (Louisville City), Aaron Herrera (Real Salt Lake), Henry Kessler (New England Revolution), Shaq Moore (CD Tenerife), Erik Palmer-Brown (Manchester City), Kevin Paredes (D.C. United), Donovan Pines (D.C. United), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), James Sands (New York City FC), Auston Trusty (Colorado Rapids), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

MIDFIELDERS (18): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids), Gianluca Busio (Sporting Kansas City), Johnny Cardoso (Internacional), Caden Clark (New York Red Bulls), Leon Flach (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Greuther Fürth), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Djordje Mihailovic (CF Montreal), Moses Nyeman (D.C. United), Andres Perea (Orlando City), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas), Memo Rodriguez (Houston Dynamo), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Hassani Dotson (Minnesota United), Tanner Tessman (FC Dallas), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

FORWARDS (17): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Corey Baird (LAFC), Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Daryl Dike (Orlando City), Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers), Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Nicholas Gioacchini (Caen), Matthew Hoppe (Schalke), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Rubio Rubin (Real Salt Lake), Chris Mueller (Orlando City), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Robbie Robinson (Inter Miami CF), Mason Toye (CF Montreal), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew)

The only Nations League roster holdovers are Kellyn Acosta, Jackson Yueill, Sebastian Lletget, and Reggie Cannon, though it is still deemed less likely that they are included on the final Gold Cup roster.

Hit the comments and let us know what you think of this provisional roster!