clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Honduras names 23-man roster for United States World Cup qualifier

Honduras has a nearly fully fit and first choice team for their World Cup qualifier against the U.S.

David Cannon

Honduras has named their 23-man roster for the February 6 World Cup qualifier against the United States in San Pedro Sula. The roster features all of Honduras' best players except for Wilson Palacios, who has battled knee problems, a dip in form and may be sold this month from Stoke City. Otherwise, Honduras will have their best team, with Maynor Figueroa, Emilio Izaguiire, Roger Espinoza, Boniek Garcia and Victor Bernardez all in the team.

Whereas the U.S. team will be coming together for just a couple days before the match, Honduras will have had a part of their team together for weeks when the two teams square off next week. Honduras just finished playing in the Central American Cup -- where they lost to Costa Rica in the final -- and all of their domestic and MLS based players were in the team, giving them some extra time together. Many of their best players, including Figueroa, Izaguirre, Espinoza and Osman Chavez do play in Europe, though, so it isn't too much of an advantage.

Jurgen Klinsmann expects to name his roster for the match no later than Monday, giving him time to evaluate the team after a handful of MLS based first team candidates trained for three weeks and played a friendly versus Canada with him.

The Americans' trip to Honduras will be their first qualifier of the final round of qualifying. It is a single mid-week date, making things difficult and with a tough Costa Rica home match and away trip to Mexico to follow in March, the U.S. would be thrilled to get a point in Honduras as part of a tough start to the Hex.

Goalkeepers: Noel Valladares (Olimpia), Donis Escober (Olimpia), José Mendoza (Marathón)

Defenders: Arnold Peralta (Vida), Brayan Beckeles (Olimpia), Victor Bernárdez (San Jose Earthquakes), Osman Chávez (Wisla Krakow), Maynor Figueroa (Wigan), Juan Pablo Montes (Platense), Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic), Juan Carlos García (Olimpia)

Midfielders: Luis Garrido (Red Star Belgrade), Jorge Claros (Hibernian), Roger Espinoza (Wigan), Alex López (Olimpia), Andy Najar (D.C. United), Boniek García (Houston Dynamo), Mario Martínez (Seattle Sounders), Aldo Oviedo (Real España)

Forwards: Jerry Bengtson (New England Revolution), Roger Rojas (Olimpia), Carlo Costly (Veria), Georgie Welcome (Motagua)