clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jurgen Klinsmann makes big roster changes to USMNT for Costa Rica friendly

Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

The United States is making several changes to their team for their friendly on Tuesday against Costa Rica. Jurgen Klinsmann has chosen to release eight players from the squad that lost to Mexico in the CONCACAF Cup on Saturday and call up five, giving him a 21-man team to take on the Ticos.

Nick Rimando, DaMarcus Beasley, Matt Besler, Kyle Beckerman, Michael Bradley, Graham Zusi, Clint Dempsey and Chris Wondolowski are all returning to their clubs and will not be with the U.S. against Costa Rica. Not coincidentally, they are all MLS players, whose clubs will be happy to have them back a little earlier in the middle of the playoff race. The only MLS players staying with the team are Brad Evans, Jermaine Jones, Jozy Altidore and Gyasi Zardes.

The additions to the team are MLS-heavy, though, with four of the five coming from the domestic league. Bill Hamid, Mix Diskerud, Lee Nguyen, Brek Shea and Andrew Wooten are all joining up with the national team, giving Klinsmann a handful of fringe players who have the chance to make an impression before World Cup qualifying gets underway next month.

All these changes appear to be part of Klinsmann's plan and are in no way related to the Americans' loss to Mexico. Klinsmann is helping out some MLS teams and giving some players new chances to work their way into the team, which is the norm for friendlies.

Tuesday's match against Costa Rica kicks off at 6:30 p.m ET and will be televised live on ESPN.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/ENG), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Everton/ENG)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America/MEX), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchenglandbach/GER), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/MEX), Tim Ream (Fulham FC/ENG), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City FC/ENG)

Midfielders: Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/FRA), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Danny Williams (Reading FC/ENG), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland AFC/ENG)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/GER), Andrew Wooten (FC Sandhausen/GER), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)