clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jurgen Klinsmann names USMNT roster for Denmark, Switzerland friendlies

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Jurgen Klinsmann has his roster for the United States' friendlies against Denmark and Switzerland. There aren't many surprises in the squad, as he has leaned upon European and Liga MX players because MLS doesn't respect FIFA international dates, but there are a few MLS players in there.

The most notable absence from the team is Brad Guzan, who asked not to be included because his child is expected to be born in the next week. Aside from that, all of the players one would expect for a European friendly are in there.

Two players are making their U.S. debuts and both come from Liga MX. William Yarbrough, the son of Texas-born parents, joins the goalkeeper group after a strong run for Club Leon, while Ventura Alvarado's fast rise with Club America has earned him a chance with the Americans. Both players could also play for Mexico -- and that won't change after these friendlies because they are not official matches that cap-tie players -- but El Tri haven't called them in and Klinsmann pounced.

The U.S. will play Denmark on March 25 in Aarhus. That match will kickoff at 3 p.m. ET and be televised on ESPN2. They will then head to Zurich, where they will play Switzerland on March 31 in a match shown on FS1.

Goalkeepers: Cody Cropper (Southampton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Julian Green (Hamburg), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Danny Williams (Reading), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Rubio Rubin (Utrecht)