clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tim Howard headlines U.S. Soccer Male Athlete of the Year nominees

The finalists for U.S. Soccer's top male honor are out.

Adam Pretty

U.S. Soccer has named its Male Athlete of the Year nominees. Tim Howard, Fabian Johnson, Jermaine Jones, Kyle Beckerman, Alejandro Bedoya and Clint Dempsey are the finalists, leaving voters with six players to choose from.

The winner of the award will be named on November 20. The announcement will be made at 4 p.m. ET on SportsCenter.

Howard is the favorite to win the award after his incredible play at the World Cup, headlined by a great match against Belgium. The goalkeeper made a World Cup record 16 saves in the match against the Red Devils, keeping the U.S. in the round of 16 contest that they would eventually lose in extra time. Howard has won the award once before, doing do in 2008.

The only other finalist to have won the award before is Clint Dempsey, who won it in 2007, 2011 and 2012.

National team and Youth National team coaches, senior team players, MLS and NASL coaches, media, administrators and former players make up the voters for the award. Female Athlete of the Year, as well as the youth awards will be awarded later in the year.