clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA name roster for U-17 World Cup tune-up tournament

Mike Carlson/Getty Images

The U-17 World Cup is just two months away, and the United States is getting ready for it with the International Youth Tournament of Vaclav Jezek in the Czech Republic. The Americans will play four matches at the competition, and Richie Williams has chosen his 20-man roster for the tournament.

The team is headlined by Christian Pulisic, who is arguably the most talented player in the U.S. youth system right now. The Borussia Dortmund man will be joined in the midfield by Luca de la Torre, while Haji Wright leads the forwards.

This is an fascinating time for Williams and the team because the World Cup is so close. They aren't casting a wide net and getting a look at everyone they can at this point. Williams is really trying to figure out his World Cup roster and all the players on this team are either going to the World Cup, or they're in the mix to do so.

Williams' team will begin the tournament on August 18 against Russia, then take on Slovenia the following day. The U.S. will cap the group stage on August 21 against Slovakia and then they will play a placement game on August 22.

Goalkeepers: William Pulisic (Richmond United; Mechanicsville, Va.), Kevin Silva (Players Development Academy; Bethlehem, Pa.)

Defenders: Hugo Arellano (LA Galaxy Academy; Norwalk, Calif.), Danny Barbir (West Bromwich Albion; Allentown, Pa.), Tanner Dieterich (Real Salt Lake Academy; Nashville, Tenn.), John Nelson (Internationals; Medina, Ohio), Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy; Trenton, N.J.), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union Academy; Media, Pa.), Alexis Velela (New York Cosmos; San Diego, Calif.)

Midfielders: Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls II; Wappinger Falls, N.Y.), Eric Calvillo (Real So Cal; Palmdale, Calif.), Luca de la Torre (Fulham; San Diego, Calif.), Thomas McCabe (Players Development Academy; South Orange, N.J.), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund; Hershey, Pa.), Alejandro Zendejas (FC Dallas; El Paso, Texas)

Forwards: Pierre da Silva (Orlando City SC Academy; Port Chester, N.Y.), Joe Gallardo (C.F. Monterrey; San Diego, Calif.), Josh Perez (Unattached; La Habra, Calif.), Brandon Vazquez (Club Tijuana; Chula Vista, Calif.), Haji Wright (New York Cosmos; Los Angeles, Calif.)