clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA announce roster for 2017 U-17 World Cup

The 21-player roster is in!

MLS: Houston Dynamo at Atlanta United FC Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

United States under-17 national team head coach John Hackworth has finalized his roster for the upcoming U-17 World Cup. The U.S. has called in 21 players for the tournament that starts on October 6 in India.

I’m not going to insult your intelligence and pretend to know a ton about this crop of players. I do know that it’s stacked with promising attacking talent. From Josh Sargent, who recently announced his intention to sign with Werder Bremen, to Atlanta United’s Andrew Carleton, all the way to the son of a former World Player of the Year, Timothy Weah. It’s an exciting group that we all should pay attention to when they kick off the World Cup next month.

The U.S. have been drawn into a group with the hosts India, Ghana, and Colombia.

Oct 6 - FIFA U-17 World Cup Group stage - 10:30 AM (FS2, NBC Universo)

India U-17 vs United States U-17

Oct 9 - FIFA U-17 World Cup Group stage - 7:30 AM (FS2, NBC Universo)

Ghana U-17 vs United States U-17

Oct 12 - FIFA U-17 World Cup Group stage - 10:30 AM (FS2, NBC Universo)

United States U-17 vs Colombia U-17

Full Roster:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Alex Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (S.L. Benfica; Philadelphia, Penn.), Justin Garces (Atlanta United FC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (6): Sergiño Dest (Ajax; Almere-stad, Netherlands), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), James Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Tyler Shaver (New York City FC; Greenwich, Conn.), Akil Watts (Portland Timbers, Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): George Acosta (North Carolina FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Soccer Club; Southlake, Texas), Chris Goslin (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana Vassilev (Unattached; Savannah, Ga.)

FORWARDS (6): Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton Ont.), Andrew Carleton (Atlanta United FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Jacobo Reyes (C.F. Monterrey; Houston, Texas), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; O'Fallon, Mo.), Tim Weah (Paris Saint-Germain F.C., Rosedale, N.Y.)