clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT submits official World Cup roster to FIFA

Jurgen Klinsmann's 23-man team is now set in stone.

Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

The United States has their World Cup roster. Jurgen Klinsmann actually picked his final 23-man squad more than a week ago, but June 2 was the deadline to submit that team to FIFA and U.S. Soccer has now done that, locking in their group for Brazil.

The U.S., like any other team, can still make changes to their team, but only in the event of injury. Teams have until 24 hours before their first match to replace an injured players and, oddly, the replacement player doesn't have to come from the original 30-man preliminary roster. They can call in anyone.

Anyway, the U.S. has their World Cup team. It's locked in, official and these are the 23 Americans set to represent their country at the biggest sporting event on the planet:

Goalkeepers: Tim Howard, Brad Guzan, Nick Rimando.

Defenders: DeAndre Yedlin, Omar Gonzalez, Matt Besler, John Brooks, DaMarcus Beasley, Geoff Cameron, Timothy Chandler, Fabian Johnson.

Midfielders: Michael Bradley, Mix Diskerud, Alejandro Bedoya, Jermaine Jones, Brad Davis, Kyle Beckerman, JUlian Green, Graham Zusi.

Forwards: Clint Dempsey, Aron Johannsson, Jozy Altidore, Chris Wondolowski.