clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 FIFA World Cup pots finalized

The field of 32 is set.

Germany v Argentina: 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Final Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

With Peru rounding out the field of 32 by beating New Zealand last night, FIFA announced the pots for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Final Draw, which will take place December 1st in Moscow. It was announced in September that all teams would be allocated to four 8-team pots based on their standing in the October 2017 FIFA/Coca-Cola World Rankings, with hosts Russia placed as the top seeded spot.

The pots for the World Cup draw:

Pot 1: Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France

Pot 2: Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia

Pot 3: Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran

Pot 4: Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, South Korea, Saudi Arabia

The drawing of teams into Groups A through H will remain the same from the 2014 World Cup. No teams from the same confederation may be drawn into the same group with the exception of UEFA, who can have up to two teams in the same group. CONCACAF will be represented by Mexico in Pot 2, Costa Rica in Pot 3, and Panama in Pot 4.

Which groups would be intriguing to you? Hit the comments and let us know!